Keswick Holiday

Sunday 25 June 2017. I’m home a day early as I wanted to avoid Monday traffic congestion on the A66 and A1. This was a holiday of two halves. The first half was good, the second half less so. As already reported, I walked with Jacqui on 3 consecutive days. Whilst me knee held up, it didn’t enjoy the downhill bits and after the last 9 mile walk I just about seized up.

I took a couple of days rest at the end of the first week hoping that the knee would get better. It didn’t and then a heat wave struck making walking even less pleasurable. I did manage one more respectable walk but gave in after a couple of miles on another walk in the heat of Borrowdale. I killed time until yesterday which was the day of the 10in10 and 5in5 charity challenge walks. I had entered the easier 5in5 which was 10 miles with 4,000ft of ascent. Needless to say I couldn’t start but went along to the finish at the Swinside Inn, just outside of Portinscale, to cheer in the finishers. I took a lot of photographs and, if you want to see more, then follow this link

I’ve had a sore knee for 4 months now. I’ve seen my GP, had an x-ray and visited 2 separate physiotherapists. All to no avail and whilst I haven’t done much walking of late, I’ve decided to reduce this even further by cancelling my planned August holiday in Cheddar. This will give me 6 weeks at home to rest up and hopefully feel better for my final summer holiday in September at Henley-on-Thames. I’m still going off to Youlgreave next month when I might meet up with Jacqui for a weekend walk.

P1010408

Leave a Reply

