Applethwaite

Sunday 18 June 2017. After 2 days rest I thought that I should resume walking although the temperatures yesterday and today were stupidly hot and hardly conducive to physical exercise. Wanting to avoid the mid-day heat I made an early (08:10) start to today’s walk, setting off from the bouncy bridge over the River Derwent at Portinscale and following the river north to Dancing Gate. It is haymaking time in the lakes and the fields were strewn with piles of drying grass. The whole of the Coledale Horseshoe was in view from Causey Pike round to Grisdale Pike. in the opposite direction there were great views of Skiddaw.

Crossing the A591, I made my way through Millbeck before the briefest of stops in Applethwiate. The last leg of the walk took me back across the A591 and A66 to pass around Keswick school and back to the car which had been parked in the shade, making for a comfortable drive back into Keswick. The walk was just 5.5 miles with a total ascent of 500ft.

I had thought about doing a section of the Ullswater Way tomorrow but will have to wait to see if it cools down a little as the bus that I need to use doesn’t leave until 10:15 which means that I will be walking in the hottest part of the day.

Applethwaite – walk route

ap1ap2ap3ap4ap5

Leave a Reply

