Troutbeck Tongue

Tuesday 13 June 2017. I met with Jacqui today for a walk around the Troutbeck valley. The hills were shrouded in cloud so a low-level walk seemed ideal and wouldn’t put too much strain on my knee. Parking next to Trout Beck at Church Bridge we had a stiff uphill start to reach Troutbeck village. Our route then took us through Town Head and along lanes to cross over the beck once again near Troutbeck Park. Troutbeck Tongue was now in sight but a coffee stop was needed before making the climb of 500ft to the summit.

The Tongue was one of my unclimbed “Wainwrights” so I kept this in mind as we made our way steeply to the top at 1,194ft. This is the eighth lowest of the Wainwrights. We met a handful of walkers near the top all of whom were coming the opposite way as this was an easier approach. I was glad that we were doing it the opposite way to them as the descent was more gentle and easier on the knees.

We crossed back across the stream for the return route which took us through Limefitt Park which is now given over entirely to static caravans/cabins although I stayed there with my motorhome in 2008. The walk was 8.5 miles with a total ascent of just under 1,500ft.

My drive back to Keswick was delayed by a car crash on the A591 which resulted in a temporary road closure. The only sensible alternative route was to go over the Kirkstone Pass to Glenridding but this would have added 26 miles to my journey on not very good roads. I decided to sit it out with a soft drink in a Grasmere pub. Buses were being held in Grasmere and their drivers had no information on when the road might open again. At 6pm I decided to see if the road had been re-opened. Thankfully it had and I was able to get back to Keswick by 6:30pm.

Troutbeck Tongue – walk route

t1t2t3t4t5t6

Leave a Reply

