World’s End

Friday 26 May 2017. Karen went home today leaving Amanda, Josephine and myself to enjoy a wonderfully sunny and warm day. Thankfully there was a cooling breeze. I wanted to do a walk from World’s End so we agreed that it would be a short out and back with no big hills. The drive there was “interesting”. I used my sat nav which took us steeply downhill on a lane only just wide enough for my car. My prayers that we wouldn’t meet anything too big coming the other way were answered and the two cars that we encountered were close to safe passing points. It was something of a white-knuckle drive for 4 miles as the hedgerows and ups and downs limited visibility of the road ahead. We didn’t find the car park marked on the map and parked a little farther on, adjacent to the junction with the Offa’s Dyke Path.

I was convinced that the sat nav had taken me on the wrong route on the way to World’s End but a later check on the OS map confirmed that it had indeed been correct. There was no way that I was going to retrace the route on the way back so, instead, I headed north-east across the moors in the general direction of Minera to eventually pick up the A5.

The walk was less eventful as we made our way on narrow tracks heading for Craig Arthur (1,420ft) where we stopped for lunch. We took a slightly lower level route on the way back which skirted the cliff tops and gave views of the Offa’s Dyke Path below. Our walk was just 5.5 miles with a surprising 1,200ft of ascent.

Despite a sometimes painful knee it has been an enjoyable 3 weeks or so in Wales. The sun has shone for much of the time allowing me to do 13 walks totalling 77 miles.

World’s End – walk route

we1we2we3we4

Just one more photo taken on my phone from the top of Craig Arthur.

Craig Arthur (1920 x 1080)

Leave a Reply

