Moel Famau

 

Wednesday 17 May 2017. I had decided before leaving home that I wanted to walk up Moel Famau (pronounced Moel Fameye) but Jacqui joining me today and the following YouTube vlog gave me added impetuous to tackle a walk which was much as I had expected at 7.5 miles but to my surprise there was almost 2,000ft of ascent.

We met at the Loggerheads Country Park to start the walk up Moel Famau. It seemed fairly gentle to start with and we lost some of the height already gained as we diverted to a picnic spot for our coffee stop. It was uphill all the way from here with the last half mile or so being at least 1in4; it certainly felt like it. Our efforts were suitably rewarded with the views from the derelict Jubilee Tower perched on the top of Moel Famau. We could see across to Cadair Idris and Snowdon 30 miles or so away to the south-west. To the north-east we could see the Dee and Mersey estuaries. We had lunch at the top enjoying the views. I didn’t find the wall used by Damian Waters in his vlog but used the path down from Jubilee Tower as my own leading line.

I’m pleased to say that our route down was considerably less steep which was greatly appreciated by me and more so by my knee. We called in at the Loggerheads cafe before the drive home. My tea and toasted Perl Wen cheese sandwich on granary bread was delicious.

Moel Famau – walk route

moel1moel2

Leave a Reply

