Cartmel

Friday 7 April 2017. I met Jacqui again today for our final walk together on this holiday. Whilst I stayed in the caravan yesterday, nursing my cold, Jacqui made it to the top of High Cup Nick on her own: well done!

I still wasn’t feeling 100% so we opted for a fairly easy walk of only 6.4 miles with a total ascent of 840ft. This walk ticked a couple of boxes for me as I’ve never visited Cartmel before and the village is the home of Sticky Toffee Pudding. We parked at the race course and made our way north. The first insignificant rise had me panting and out of breath as my cold took hold of me again. A very steady pace was maintained stopping for coffee just past Over Ridge and again for lunch at the trig point on How Barrow (560ft). From here we had good views across to Ulverston, over Morcambe Bay and towards Coniston Old Man 11 miles away. We could even see Ingleborough 25 miles away.

Our descent took us across fields recently top dressed with lime turning our boots from brown to white. I hope that it will wash off. After the walk we had a wander around Cartmel village to find the Sticky Toffee Pudding shop and stock up for tea.

Cartmel – walk route

C1 low resC2 low resC3 low resC4 low resC5 low resC6 low res

Leave a Reply

