Lonscale Fell

Monday 16 January 2017. Before I get into telling you something about today’s walk, I must first say what a delight it was to bump into Yvonne Booth and Ann Bonington who were out training for the 10in10. I hadn’t really met either of them before but, as I took part in the 5in5 last June, they looked vaguely familiar. I follow them through Facebook and Twitter. I was pleased to help by taking an “action shot” of them before they sped off in the opposite direction. The work they do for MS can only be commended and I urge you to look at their website and make a donation, if you can.

Now, back to today’s walk. Karen has joined me for 4 days and I didn’t decide which walk to do until the very last-minute. It looked as if the low cloud might clear so I opted for a walk up the Glenderatera valley, almost as far as Skiddaw House youth hostel before turning to climb Burnt Horse Fell and then on to Lonscale Fell; a new Wainwright for me. The 1,000ft climb up Burnt Horse Fell was steady to start with but then changed dramatically as we dragged ourselves up a 1in3 slope and across a small residual snowfield. It was from here that we had a good view of a couple of walkers on Lonscale Crags but sadly, by the time that we got there, the mist had descended obscuring the view.

Our route back soon pick up the “tourist track” down from Skiddaw which brought us back to the car. I was glad that I’d driven out of Keswick and up to the small car park just below Latrigg as this cut off about 3 miles and about 600ft of ascent from our walk which turned out to be 6.5 miles with a total ascent of about 2,000ft.

lonscale-fell-walk-route

10in10p1000471p1000473p1000474p1000477p1000478p1000480

 

One thought on “Lonscale Fell

  1. Yvonne Booth

    Great to bump into you today Brian! Lovely to have a chat along the way, and it gave me a good rest from running 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

