Studland

Friday 9 September 2016. After 3 days of reasonably hard walking I felt like something a little easier today. This was a make it up as you go walk with no paper map and relying on Anquet digital mapping on my phone. I drove to the NT visitor centre at Studland arriving just as the cafe was opening. I couldn’t resist a bacon bap and a pot of tea to set me up for my walk.

I had a rough idea of where I would be walking and set off along the beach towards Old Harry cliffs. I wouldn’t be going there today but will visit them next week. Turning inland I then headed out for a circuit of Godlingston Heath. This is a vast open area some of which is grazed by wild ponies. Poole Harbour and Bournemouth aren’t too far away but don’t show up too well in photographs.

My return leg took me past Agglestone rock to complete this 5.2 mile walk with just 460ft of ascent.

studland-walk-route

img_3650img_3651img_3652img_3653img_3656img_3657img_3658

Leave a Reply

