High Cup Nick

Wednesday 10 August 2016. I just couldn’t decide which walk to do today so I drove to the top of Teesdale and to the car park at Cow Green Reservoir. I’d done a walk before from here with Bea and considered doing it again but opted for the much longer walk to High Cup Nick and back again on the same route. I’d thought that it might be about 12 miles but in the end it was 14 miles with a total ascent of just over 1,500ft. It was the longest walk that I’ve done for some time and my Fitbit suggested that I hit a new high of 36,989 steps.

It was a nice sunny day as I left Cow Green but rain was forecast for later in the day. I stopped off to take a few pictures of the spectacular Cauldron Snout Waterfall before heading out towards High Cup Nick. The steps of the footbridge across Grain Beck proved an ideal spot for a coffee stop having walked 3 miles. Soon after I was caught up by Graeme Moss who was doing the Pennine Way in 18 days. We walked and talked for the next 4 miles taking us to the amazing High Cup Nick where I paused for lunch. Graeme was heading for Dufton and tomorrow he is due to walk over Cross Fell. The weather forecast isn’t very promising and I think that he may be in for a soaking – I hope not!

I took the obligatory photos before retracing my steps back to Cow Green. The forecast rain started to fall with 4 miles still to go; light at first but persistent by the end. It had been a good walk but much of it was on hard surfaces and my feet are feeling sore but not blistered in the way that Graeme’s feet were after only two days on the Pennine Way.

High Cup Nick from Cow Green

IMG_3527IMG_3528IMG_3530IMG_3533IMG_3535IMG_3536IMG_3541Panorama

One thought on “High Cup Nick

  1. Graeme Moss

    The weather was atrocious Brian, as hard a days walking as I’ve ever done

    Thanks

    Graeme

    Reply

Leave a Reply

