Under Sassolungo

Sunday 17 July 2016. Perhaps I should have titled this post as “under the weather” as that is how if felt today. The cold that I developed yesterday has eased a little but it was touch and go whether I stayed in bed today or joined the easy 5.5 mile walk with a total ascent of only 600ft. In the end I decided that if I was going to feel miserable then it would be better outside.

I have a new group of walking companions whose names I now have to try to remember and a new walks leader who, despite being an elderly man, can best be described as “an old women”. Apologies to any female readers. He told me that he had led at Selva before but he could have fooled me. He was constantly referring to his notes to ensure that we were on the right path. This was the slowest walk that I’ve ever done. We stopped for coffee after about 40 minutes walking and then for lunch after a total of two and a half hours by which time we had only covered 2.5 miles. He’s hopeless!

I’d decided that I’d had enough of this walk and that I would get the lift down to St Christina and then to get the bus back. Unfortunately the chair lift wasn’t running. It was the lunch break and I didn’t know when it would start-up again. I had no choice but to re-join the group for an easy 2.75 mile walk back to Selva. Soon after setting off, the chair lift started up again but I was committed to completing this miserable walk.

I think that my camera must have been influenced by my miserable state as somehow and without realising it the little settings wheel and moved and the few pictures that I took weren’t recorded. We covered much of the same ground as last week so there wouldn’t have been any new views. Let’s hope that tomorrow is a better day.

Leave a Reply

