5in5 Challenge

 

Knowing that it was my 65th birthday this year I gave some thought about how I might celebrate this with a memorable walk. For my 60th I walked the 192 miles of the Coast to Coast and organised it so that I would finish on my birthday.

I didn’t fancy doing another long distance route although I did do the 90 miles of the Dales High Way last year. I fancied something that would almost guarantee warm dry weather so I booked a couple of weeks walking with HF Holidays in the Dolomites starting on 9 July. This still left me free to do something special on the 30th June, the date of my birthday, and I’ll be joined by Jacqui, Karen, Amanda & Josephine. I’m not sure which walk we’ll do but it won’t be too challenging.

I may be joined on my birthday walk by John Horner, a former work colleague, who I bumped into on the bus whilst in Keswick last year. I hadn’t seen him for about 20 years and we went on to to do a walk over Hopegill Head together. I’ll be meeting up with John in a few weeks time to do some more walking together but more importantly we’ve both signed up to do the 5in5 Challenge on 25th June and this will be the walk that I’ll use to mark my 65th birthday, albeit a few days early. The significance of this walk is that it is a fund raising event in aid of the Multiple Sclerosis Society. John and I have paid our £35 entry fee, most of which I assume will go to the charity but it would help if any of my friends/readers would like to make a small donation. Our walk is just under 10 miles taking in 5 major peaks in 5 hours and has a total ascent of over 3,600ft. As well as doing the walk to mark my birthday and to raise funds for MS, I’m also doing it as a means of lending support to Judy White, a former Fenland Ramblers member and walk leader, who was diagnosed with MS a few years back and is suffering with restricted mobility. I’ll be thinking of her whilst undertaking the 5in5 Challenge.

http://www.10in10.org.uk/event-information/5in5-challenge/

This video makes reference to the 10in10 Challenge which I thought would be too demanding so I chickened out and decided to do the shorter 5in5 instead.

Leave a Reply

