Sutton Bank

Tuesday 24 May 2016. I broke my journey home by stopping off in Boroughbridge for two nights. This gave me a chance to call in and see my nephew and his family and to do a walk today. I made the short drive to Sutton Bank for today’s 7.8 mile walk with a total ascent of 1,600ft. The last time that I was here was in July 2014 with Karen when we walked south to visit the “white horse” carved out of the chalk hillside. For a change, I walked north following the Cleveland Way across the ridge top for 3 miles before descending for my mid-point coffee stop in the hamlet of Boltby.

There were incredible views to be had from the ridge top and I could see beyond Harrogate to the “golf ball” radar globes at the Menwith Hill listening station. Looking west across the Vale of York I could see a range of distant hills some 30 miles away. At the time I was unsure what they were but it now seems as if it was Penhill which isn’t too far from Aysgarth.

For my return I could either walk through the forest at the foot of the ridge or in more open countryside in the valley bottom. It was such a lovely sunny day that I chose the latter to make the most if the views. I crossed through mixed woodland carpeted with bluebells before arriving at Goremire Lake. I knew that I would have a climb to finish with and the last mile required a steep pull of 600ft. Despite this rather taxing end, it had been a beautiful walk and a good end to this holiday.

Sutton Bank – walk route

IMG_3160IMG_3161IMG_3163IMG_3165IMG_3167

Leave a Reply

