Yeavering Bell

Tuesday 17 May 2016. Back to walking today with a 9-mile route including 1,800ft of ascent starting from Wooler Common. It was an odd day. I started out in a westerly direction head on into a strong and chilly breeze. My hands were cold and I had to wear a thin pair of gloves until I turned around at Yeavering Bell and headed back to the car. There was more shelter on the return leg and I was so warm that I had to stop to remove a layer.

The outward leg followed the St Cuthbert’s Way to the south of Yeavering Bell. This was a fairly high level route across heather covered moorland and provided views across the hills, including The Cheviot which I climbed on a previous visit to the area. The route up and down Yeavering Bell and much of the return leg was signposted as the “Hillfort Trail”. Being the nerd that I am, I made a note of the altitude, time and distance walked at the foot of Yeavering Bell and again at the top. It was an ascent of 354ft covering just under half a mile and took me 17 minutes to complete. Needless to say, it took me less time to come down. I bumped into 3 walkers on Yeavering Bell and it was obvious from the route card being carried by the leader that they were from HF Holidays. We had a chat and it transpired that they were the “harder walk” group starting from Kirk Newton and finishing in Wooler. I followed them for a little while but they veered off at the foot of White Law on an unmarked track, presumably to avoid another hill climb. My route took me over the top of White Law and down the other side to Gleadscleugh Ford.

The rest of my route was fairly gentle although there was one more small climb towards the end. It was turning into something of a nature trail as I almost trod on an Adder slithering across the path in front of me. Soon after, I saw 4 birds flying from tree to tree. I wasn’t sure what they were so took a rather distant picture hoping that I could Identify them when I got back. The picture came out better than I could have hoped for and shows a Mistle Thrush feeding one of its brood.

Yeavering Bell – walk route_2

IMG_3134IMG_3135IMG_3137IMG_3139IMG_3141IMG_3142IMG_3144IMG_3145

Leave a Reply

