Melrose

Tuesday 10 May 2016. Although it was beautifully sunny today, there was an on-shore breeze with a forecast of cooler temperatures on the coast. I therefore made a drive of 60 miles each way inland to Melrose in order to climb the three Eildon hills. I was inspired to do this walk after watching an episode of BBC Scotland’s “Adventure Show” which featured a 40-mile ultra-marathon, the route of which went over these hills just to make it even more difficult. I found the hills themselves quite enough without adding an extra 40 miles!

Leaving Melrose I followed the route of the St Cuthbert’s Way as far as the hause/col between North Hill (1,325ft) and Mid Hill (1,385ft). It was here that the gradient increased as I climbed the last 300ft to the top of Mid Hill. The paths on this hill weren’t great, being covered in loose scree making the descent towards Little Hill more than interesting. I skirted around Little Hill before starting the climb up Wester Hill (1,217ft), the smallest of the three Eildons. I had lunch at the top before descending back to the hause to start the climb of North Hill. This was relatively easy as I followed a zig-zag grassy path on the way up and a good path coming down the other side.

My route back into Melrose took me past the Abbey but I’m not really into churches and certainly wasn’t going to pay £5.60 to have a look around. I invested my money more wisely on a well-earned ice cream. The walk was just under 6 miles but had a total ascent of 1,650ft.

Melrose – walk route

IMG_3041IMG_3042IMG_3043IMG_3045IMG_3046IMG_3048IMG_3049IMG_3050

Leave a Reply

