Latterbarrow

Wednesday 20 April 2016. What a cracking day; the weather just gets better and was ideal for walking although the long distance views were a little hazy. The attraction of my caravanning/walking holidays is that I can adjust my programme to suit how I feel and to accommodate the British climate. I had intended doing a walk from Grasmere today and will probably do that tomorrow. For today’s walk I made the short drive to the ferry crossing at Bowness and took the car across to the other side of Windermere to walk up to Latterbarrow. It wasn’t until I was queueing for the ferry that I thought it might have been cheaper to go across as a foot passenger. The charge for the car was £4.40 each way whereas foot passengers are only charged £1.50 each way. I parked for free in the NT car park at the other side and saved £6.50 but would have had to pay to leave the car on the Bowness side. I guess that there wouldn’t have been much in it but the Yorkshireman in me is always looking to save money.

I started the walk with a couple of miles through woodland on the side of Lake Windermere before turning west to head up to Latterbarrow (800ft). The original route didn’t include Latterbarrow but I made an out and back diversion of 2 miles or so to tick off this remarkable viewpoint. It isn’t listed as a Wainwright but in my view he made a mistake by leaving it out. From the cairn at the top I could see all of the Conistone Fells, The Crinkles and Bow Fell, the Langdale Pikes, Fairfield, Helvellyn, Red Screes, High Street and the western ridge of the Kentmere Horseshoe. I don’t know any other vantage point with such magnificent views.

After having lunch on Latterbarrow I made my way back to the original route which took me past Wise Een and Moss Eccles tarns. These were exquisite and the view across Wise Een to the Langdale Pikes couldn’t be bettered. It was reminiscent of an Alpine pasture, all that was missing were the cows and their bells. I could have taken in a visit to “Hill Top” at Near Sawrey but decided to give this tourist hot spot a miss. Instead, I made for Far Sawrey and the path back to the car. The walk was 8¼ miles with a total ascent of 1,600ft. I did it at a strolling pace which made it all the more enjoyable and this will be long remembered as one of my best Lake District walks.

Latterbarrow – walk route

IMG_2970IMG_2973IMG_2974IMG_2976IMG_2977IMG_2978IMG_2981IMG_2984IMG_2986IMG_2987

Leave a Reply

