Arnside

Tuesday 19 April 2016. A lovely walk on a lovely day. I had planned to do this walk around Arnside last Sunday but the weather then was so good that I just had to go and do Helvellyn instead. It was similar weather today with clear skies and a little warmer than of late. The start of the walk was from the NT’s car park near the top of Arnside Knott. This involved a drive up a single track lane and I was fortunate not to meet anyone coming the opposite way as there was only one passing point. The car park isn’t quite at the top and there was still a short climb of about 150ft to the trig point at 521ft. There were great views to be had from the top as I looked across Morcambe Bay; many of the Lake District fells being just visible through a haze to the north.

After wandering about on the top for a little while I made my way down the eastern side of the hill in order to visit the ruins of Arnside Tower. A walk across fields and through a static caravan park brought me to my coffee stop near the shore line where I sat for a while enjoying the warm sunshine. The next section of the walk took me Park Point, Arnside Point and then Blackstone Point. This was a lovely path on the edge of a wood with views all the while across the bay. I was able to drop down from this elevated path to walk on the sands but wasn’t really sure of the tide times (I’d checked but couldn’t remember the time of high tide) and didn’t want to find myself trapped by the rapidly moving tides in the bay.

I had lunch at New Barns before continuing the coastal walk into the town of Arnside. As I’d started from the car park near to the top of The Knott, I finished with a climb of 350ft: not ideal planning! The walk was 7.8 miles with a total ascent of 1,000ft.

Arnside – walk route

IMG_2947IMG_2948IMG_2955IMG_2957IMG_2958IMG_2962IMG_2963IMG_2966

One thought on “Arnside

  1. Pingback: Arnside Knott | fenlandramblers

Leave a Reply

