Buckden

Thursday 7 April 2016. There were heavy showers for much of yesterday so walking was off the agenda. Thankfully and a little unexpectedly the overnight rain cleared relatively early today and was followed by a bright morning and early afternoon. This didn’t last and as I write this blog its raining again!

I set off this morning to do a new walk from Yockenthwaite but there were “road closed” signs at Hubberholme and, as it was single track, I didn’t fancy my chances of getting through. A closer examination, on foot, later in the day confirmed that the road closure wasn’t until 7 miles further on and I could have gone as far as Yockenthwaite. I might come back tomorrow, weather permitting, to give it another go.

Thwarted on my original plan, I fell back on a walk from Buckden that I’d done a few times before but it is one that I never tire of. It took me uphill right from the start. After a climb of 400ft it levelled off as I made my way along Buckden Rake before dropping down to the stepping stones across Cray Gill. The next section of the walk to Scar House was wonderful and gave great views down the impressive Wharfedale. It was at Scar House where I took a couple of pictures of a famer bringing his Swaledale sheep down off the hill.

I stopped for coffee at the lovely church in Hubberholme where I sat enjoying the sunshine and saw my first Swallow of this year. Leaving Hubberholme, I took the chance to have a closer look at the “road closed” sign and only then realised that I could have got through to do my planned walk from Yockenthwaite. The last part of the walk followed the route of the Dales Way alongside the River Wharfe back to Buckden. It was a relatively short walk of just over 5 miles and with only 850ft of ascent, half of which was undertaken in the first 15 minutes.

Buckden – walk route

IMG_2839IMG_2827IMG_2828IMG_2829IMG_2830IMG_2833IMG_2836IMG_2837IMG_2838

Leave a Reply

