Mam Tor

Thursday 10 March 2016. Yesterday was thoroughly miserable with constant rain. I escaped the confines of my caravan for lunch at the NT Longshaw Estate café with some retail therapy in Hathersage on the way back.

The weather today wasn’t much better and although it wasn’t raining, it was cold with cloud covering the hilltops. I abandoned my plan to walk over Mount Famine and instead drove to Bakewell with the idea of walking to Edensor and back. I paid to park all day but after walking around the town for a while and a coffee stop, I decided to abandon Plan B and to go back to the caravan.

I could have had another easy day watching TV but decided that I really needed to get out walking. So, at 1pm, I set of to walk up to Mam Tor. It took me just under an hour to walk the 2¼ miles up to Hollins Cross at 1,300ft and a further half an hour to walk three-quarters of a mile to Mam Tor at 1,696ft. My route back followed the now abandoned road into Castleton. As you will see from the picture, it isn’t really suitable for vehicles. The walk was 6.6 miles with just over 1,300ft of ascent.

Mam Tor – walk route

DSC_0208DSC_0209DSC_0210DSC_0211DSC_0212DSC_0214DSC_0216

Leave a Reply

