Autumn in the Lakes

Monday 26 October 2015. I’m at HF Derwentbank for a few days of hill walking with Jacqui. I drove up yesterday to Harrogate calling in at Boroughbridge to visit my nephew and his family. My niece and her brood called around yesterday afternoon so I’ve now done my pre-christmas visiting duties to the whole of my family.

My brother’s Boxer “Lilly” has been lame with a ligament injury which was operated on a few days ago at a cost of £3,000. A good job that she is insured. She has to wear a plastic cone around her neck for a while; this can be seen in the picture of her with my twin brother Mal.

I left his place at 7am today as he set off for work and stopped off in Kirkby Lonsdale for breakfast on the drive up to Portinscale. I met Jacqui for lunch at the Lakes Distillery before doing the tour to see how they make Whisky, Vodka and Gin. Both of us came away having bought a large bottle of their finest Gin.

The HF house at Derwentbank is overrun with a group of two dozen walkers from Stafford who, despite all being pensioners, make too much noise and just clutter the place up. I’m glad that I have Jacqui for company. Another consolation is that I have a room with a view which can be seen from a couple of the following pictures.

The weather for tomorrow looks set to be fair so the target is Scafell Pike. Read subsequent posts to see if we make it to the top?

DSC_0003DSC_0004 DSC_0005 DSC_0008

Leave a Reply

