Llangattock Quarries

Friday 11 September 2015. Today’s walk was another that I made up for myself and it turned out to be one of the most enjoyable of this holiday. I parked just across the river from Crickhowell and started the 900ft climb up to the disused quarries just above Llangattock. This was a steady rather than a steep climb with much of it being along an enclosed bridleway.

The next 2 miles were absolutely beautiful as I followed the level course of the old tramway through the Craig Cilau nature reserve. This is a limestone area similar to that found in the White Peak or the Yorkshire Dales and made me feel at home. It was so tranquil and provided good views back towards Crickhowell. All too soon this section of the walk came to an end and I then headed back towards my car, passing through Llangatock village where there was a lovely wild flower border.

Today’s walk was 7.25 miles with 1,650ft of ascent. The weather forecast for the weekend isn’t great and I’ve decided to come home tomorrow and cut the holiday short by a couple of days. In my time at Crickhowell I’ve done 9 walks totaling 67 miles and 15,500ft of ascent.

Wales Walks

Llangattock Quarries – walk route

IMG_2452 IMG_2456 IMG_2457 IMG_2459 IMG_2460

Leave a Reply

