Llangynidr

Thursday 10 September 2015. I had considered a walk up Waun Rydd today but this would have been 9 miles with 2,300ft of ascent. I think that I’ve had my fill of climbing mountains for this holiday and opted instead for a walk that I made up starting from nearby Llangynidr. It was far less taxing although it was still 8.5 miles with 1,630ft of ascent.

It was a gentle start as I strolled alongside the Monmouthshire & Brecon canal. This section was a little more attractive as it meandered towards Talybont-on-Usk and included a number of locks. I couldn’t stay on the level for the whole of this walk and the climbing began as I turned on to the Usk Valley Walk. It was a fairly gentle climb before descending briefly to pick up the Brinore Tramroad. From here I could see across the Talybont Reservoir to Waun Rydd and the surrounding mountains which were shrouded in mist and low cloud. This only served to reinforce my decision to stay low today.

The former tramway rose gently before leading me to a path across the hillside to join up with the Beacons Way. This was the highest point of the walk and it was all downhill from here back to the canal and Llangynidr. The  weather forecast today was for sunshine but, as happened yesterday, this took a long time to break through and it didn’t really brighten up until near the end of the walk.

Llangynidr – walk route

IMG_2446 IMG_2447 IMG_2448 IMG_2449

Leave a Reply

