Cwmdu

Wednesday 9 September 2015. I decided to do a walk directly from my caravan site today. The route was one that I devised myself from the map and turned out to be 7.25 miles with a total ascent of 1,400ft.

I walked down to Cwmdu and crossed the A479 to begin the ascent of Pen Tir. This involved a short section of uphill road walking along the route of the Beacons Way before turning on to an even steeper bridleway which lead towards the summit at at just below 1,500ft. By now I had climbed 1,000ft in under 2k. The route then leveled out as it contoured around the top of the valley and rejoined the Beacons Way.

Soon after crossing Cefn Moel I turned east back towards Cwmdu. The bridleway that I had planned to use was lost in a sea of bracken but there was another track a little further on which brought me back to The Crindau and my scheduled way back to the caravan. This walk has taken my annual mileage to just over 800 and I should make it to my target of 1,000 miles before the end of the year.

Cwmdu – walk route

IMG_2437 IMG_2439 IMG_2440 IMG_2441 IMG_2442 IMG_2443

Leave a Reply

