Red Nose Day

Tuesday 8 September 2015. Back in April 2011 I posted a picture of myself with a bright red and very sore nose. Well, it has happened again, something which is triggered by bright sunshine. I know that this has been scarce this summer but this last week in Wales has been very bright an very warm.

My problem is that I suffer with the Herpes Simplex Virus (cold sores) but rather than erupting around my lips, for me the outbreak is normally on the left side of my forehead and sometimes on my nose, as is the case just now. I try to prevent this by using suncream and wearing a baseball cap to keep the sun off my face, but sometimes I forget and have to suffer the consequences.

The treatment is to use Zovirax antiviral cream which normally clears this up in a week or so. I know that I shouldn’t complain, especially as it is the result of sunny weather which we haven’t seen too much of this year. I’ve added a not very flattering photo to show you how I look today.

2015-09-08 17.09.29

Leave a Reply

