Llanthony Priory

Monday 7 September 2015. The sun shone again for today’s 9.2 mile walk with 1,950ft of ascent. I drove 25 miles or so through Abergavenny to the very eastern edge of the Brecon Beacons national park for this walk which started from Llanthony Priory. After taking a few pictures of the ruined Priory, founded around 1200AD, I set off for my walk. The paths were well signposted  but I still managed to set off heading north instead of east. I soon realised my mistake but instead of backtracking, I turned south-east to pick up my intended route on the Beacons Way.

It was here that the climbing started in earnest as I made my way up to join the Offa’s Dyke path. I wasn’t on it for very long before I needed to turn off in a southerly direction across Hatterall Hill. There was no signpost or discernible path and wayfinding across open moorland was difficult to say the least. It was here that Anquet mapping and the GPS on my tablet came to the rescue and I doubt that I would have found my way without them.

Route finding for the rest of the walk was fairly straightforward as I made my way back along the Vale of Ewyas. The last 3 miles were across fields with a stile at every boundary making for slow and tedious progress. Whilst it was a nice walk, I much prefer the space and openness of the high fells.

Llanthony Priory – walk route

IMG_2417 IMG_2418 IMG_2419 IMG_2421 IMG_2423 IMG_2424 IMG_2425 IMG_2426

Leave a Reply

