Table Mountain

Sunday 6 September 2015. It was a cold night with the temperature dropping to 5c and only rising to 9c as I started my walk. However, it turned out to be a lovely sunny day with the temperature having risen to about 20c by the end of my walk at 2pm. I decided to do an 8.5 mile walk with a total ascent of 2,200ft starting from Crickhowell and taking in Table Mountain and the most southerly end of The Black Mountains.

Table Mountain is only a mile and a half outside of Crickhowell but getting there involved a stiff climb of 1,200ft and I was glad for a breather as I took in the views. I could see Sugar Loaf across to the east and Pen y Fan away to the west. Leaving Table Mountain, I had another 500ft climb onto the edge The Black Mountains before contouring around towards The Beacons Way. The path was a little indistinct and covered in bracken and, as result, I veered off a little further north than intended before picking up the road at Cwm Mawr.

My route then took me on a permissive path through the Glanusk Estate. Had I tried to do this walk last week then I would have been in trouble as the permissive paths were closed for a month due to the filming of the BBC2 series Special Forces which is currently being shown on TV.

Leaving the Glanusk Estate, I followed the course of the Monmouthshire & Brecon canal for about a mile before dropping down to the road back to Crickhowell. The canal is quite a feat of engineering as it follows a contour line half way up a hill rather than taking the easier route in the valley bottom.

I’ve added a couple of pictures of blackboard signs outside the Bridge Inn where I stopped for a post-walk drink.

Table Mountain – walk route

IMG_2407 IMG_2410 IMG_2411 IMG_2414 IMG_2405 IMG_2408

Leave a Reply

