Waterfalls Walk

Thursday 3 September 2015. As I set off this morning for my 45 mile drive to Pontneddfechan the weather seemed fairly settled but by the time that I passed the Storey Arms, the starting point for the climb of the Brecon Beacons, the cloud base was almost down to the level of the road. The last 10 miles of the drive were completed in heavy drizzle and I was beginning to think that it might be a wasted journey as I certainly didn’t want to walk in those conditions. As I arrived at Pontneddfechan the weather was beginning to improve and a 10 minute wait in the car park saw the back of the rain.

My route for most of the day was along muddy and rocky tracks which made for slow going and I was glad to have completed the first 2 miles which brought me to the highlight of the day at Sgwd yr Eira (falls of snow). It was a steep climb down and a steep climb out again at the other side but it was well worth it. unlike the YouTube video there was a full curtain of water today and I have to admit to being a little intimidated at the thought of walking behind the waterfall. I needn’t have worried as there was plenty of room to pass behind without getting soaked although the rocks underfoot were very slippery.

As can be seen from my photographs, I met a couple of walkers at the other side, one of whom was intent on taking a dip in the river at the foot of the falls. He must have been mad but at least he survived. I had a chat with them later on when they told me that their walk would be taking in 10 waterfalls. I think that they were doing the same route as me but in the opposite direction as I bumped into them again just before returning to Pontneddfechan.

My outward leg to Sgwd yr Eira was alongside Afon Melte and my return leg was alongside Nedd Fechan. I passed so many waterfalls on this walk that I lost count of them all and only stopped to take pictures of the larger falls. It was an exhilarating walk at times, particularly when deviating from my walk route to take a path closer to the riverside only to find a sign at the end advising that the path was closed. Perhaps it was too dangerous, it certainly felt like it at times.

This felt like a quite strenuous route which was confirmed by the stats which showed that I had walked 8.25 miles with 1,750ft of ascent. I rewarded myself with a pint of lime & lemonade and a bowl of chips in a pub near the end of the walk.

Waterfalls – walk route

IMG_2379 IMG_2380 IMG_2381 IMG_2383 IMG_2384

Leave a Reply

