Wycoller

Wednesday 12 August 2015. It was the glorious twelfth today and the weather certainly fell into that category with a long awaited summer’s day. We drove via Oxenhope on some very narrow winding roads to the car park just outside the hamlet of Wycoller. It was only half a mile or so to walk into Wycoller and as Bea wanted a sandwich for lunch we stopped at the local café. It didn’t usually open until 12am but the local Health Walk group had booked a stop there so it had opened early. We were at the back of a long queue but I eventually got my tea and bacon sandwich.

The walk started off by crossing farmland and walled fields before joining the Pendle Way where we stopped again for a late lunch. The section along the Pendle Way was delightful as we were on the edge of Brinks End Moor with a stream running below us to our right. We could have taken a short cut back to the car by using the Bronte Way but I wanted to walk across the top of Foster’s Leap. This meant that we had to do some road walking but I couldn’t let the opportunity of visiting such a prominent landmark pass me by.

I decided that I would drive back on what I thought would be better roads go via Colne, the M65 & Burnley. This was a mistake as the traffic was horrendous and I now wish that I’d gone back the way that I came. The walk was 7¼ miles with a total ascent of just under 1,000ft.

Wycoller – walk route.pdf

Leave a Reply

