Tissington

Friday 24 July 2015. Back to solo walking today which meant that I could start my walk at 08:45 in the hope of missing the rain that was forecast for later in the day. The route that I had was 9 miles but I knew before I started that I wanted an easier day so I cut this down to just 6 miles with 1,200ft of ascent. Leaving Tissington I made my way towards Lover’s Leap and Dove Dale. I had a descent of 600ft from the top of Dove Dale down to Lover’s Leap and the valley floor.

Along the way I had great views of Thorpe Cloud. The last time that I was here was with Karen & Barry who I dragged up this minor peak to see the view from the top.

It was 10:30 by the time that I reached the stepping stones across the River Dove and much to my surprise I had the place to myself. It has always been busy with tourist when I’ve been there before but I guess that it was too early for them today. A steady climb up Lin Dale brought me to the outskirts of Thorpe where I picked up the Limestone Way all the way back to Tissington. I got back at 11:45 just as the first spots of rain started to fall – good timing!

Tissington – walk route.pdf

Leave a Reply

