Thorpe and Ilam

Thursday 30 July 2015. The weather hasn’t been great for the last 4 days although I could have gone out walking yesterday as the forecast showers didn’t materialise until late in the afternoon. Instead, I took myself off for some retail therapy in Rab’s factory outlet shop in nearby Alfreton.

Today’s walk was loosely based on an HF self-guided route from their newly acquired Dove Dale house “The Peveril in the Peak” although I modified this a couple of times en-route. Starting from just above Thorpe I made my way down past the HF house and into Lin Dale which brought me to the stepping stones across the River Dove where I’d been last week. There were a few more people about but it was in no way busy. I was heading for the refreshments bar in the nearby car park for a cup of tea but it hadn’t opened by the time that I got there. Undaunted, I pushed on to Ilam Hall which, being NT owned, would probably have some form of refreshments on offer. I wasn’t to be disappointed for a second time and had a pot of tea and the obligatory bacon sandwich.

I’d only walked 3 miles by now and really didn’t feel like doing the full 8 mile circuit which would have included a great deal more up and down. I opted for an easier shortcut and followed the River Manifold to Caldwell Bridge where I picked up the Limestone Way and resumed the HF route back to the car. My walk was 6 miles with just over 1,000ft of ascent

Thorpe – walk route.pdf

Leave a Reply

