Stoodley Pike

Friday 7 August 2015. I’d planned to do this walk yesterday but there were persistent showers throughout the morning and I became engrossed watching the Ashes cricket and England bowling out Australia for just 60 runs. The weather today was ideal so I set off from the caravan at 08:30 to walk up to Stoodley Pike (1,320ft) and back. My route took me through the lovely wooded area of Broadhead Clough Nature Reserve before emerging onto Bell House Moor. Finding the path across the moor was somewhat difficult but with the aid of GPS I made it to across to the more distinct bridleway leading to Stoodley Pike.

I was surprised to find that there was a spiral staircase up the centre of the Pike leading to the viewing balcony. The staircase inside the Pike was unlit so I used my headtorch for the climb. My route away from the Pike followed the Pennine Way for a short distance before descending past Withens Clough Reservoir to Cragg Vale and the road back to the caravan site. The walk was 8¼ miles with a total ascent of 1,600ft.

Stoodley Pike – walk route.pdf

Leave a Reply

