Stanton in Peak

Friday 31 July 2015. At last a real summer’s day with warm sunshine, blue sky and a light breeze – ideal for walking. Today’s walk was 8 miles with just under 1,300ft of ascent; 450ft of which was in the last mile on a long slog back up to the car.

My walk was taken from Go4aWalk and I followed their directions. If I were to do it again, I’d set off in the opposite direction and avoid the final uphill climb. Parking in Stanton in Peak is extremely difficult but I found a small lay-by on the edge of the village on the Birchover road. This added a little distance to the walk as did taking a wrong turn just before Stanton Moor. This piece of open access land stands high above the surrounding area and provides great views in all directions. It also contains the Nine Ladies stone circle and Cork Rock.

Leaving Stanton Moor, I passed through Birchover to descend down to the Limestone Way. A short sharp climb followed and I was glad to take a rest on Hilary’s Seat which provided a memorial to a local farmer’s wife. Having reached the top of Harthill Moor, I descended again to the bottom of Youlgreave from where I walked through Bradford Dale to Alport. A little more up and down brought me to the small road leading back up to Stanton in Peak and the final 450ft climb. Despite the climbs, this was probably my favourite walk on this holiday in the White Peak.

Stanton in Peak – walk route.pdf

Leave a Reply

