Hebden Bridge

Wednesday 5 August 2015. I took the bus into Hebden Bridge and back for today’s 6½ mile walk with a total of 1,500ft of ascent. My route was taken from the AA’s website but the instructions weren’t very clear and without the aid of GPS I might have got totally lost. It started in a leisurely manner walking along the towpath beside the Rochdale Canal. I left the canal side too soon and had a half a mile to walk alongside the busy A646. Leaving the road, my path took a decidedly upwards turn with a climb of 700ft in the next mile. There was a myriad of paths in the depths of Jumble Hole Clough and finding my intended route proved almost impossible. Instead, I opted to follow the well waymarked Pennine Bridleway, which ultimately joined in with the Pennine Way and the Calderdale Way. I followed these trails until, after 5½ miles, I arrived in Heptonstall.

I was travelling light, without my backpack, for what I thought would be a short walk and was in need of something to eat and drink. There are two pubs in Heptonstall and I clearly made the wrong choice. I should have known as I was the only customer and my Lasagne & Chips was the worst meal that I’ve ever had. I’ll be visiting Heptonstall again next week but will give this pub a miss in favour of a nice tea shop that I found during my subsequent exploration of the village.

A mile of downhill road walking brought me back into Hebden Bridge. I called into the Town Hall café for tea and saw an interesting chair upholstered with an OS map motif.

Hebden Bridge – walk route.pdf

Leave a Reply

