Brassington

Sunday 2 August 2015. I didn’t feel like doing too much yesterday and rain was forecast again. It arrived in buckets at about 2:30pm by which time I’d been down to Carsington Water for a 4 mile walk along the dam wall and back. The Caravan Club has a site close to Carsington Water and I extended my walk to have a wander around their site. There were far too many trees and satellite reception might be a problem so I won’t be staying there.

For my last walk in the White Peak, I took myself off to Brassington to do another route from Go4aWalk. It wasn’t great as it was either crossing fields with wet grass or walking on minor roads/tracks. Not one to do again. I’ve encountered dozens of squeeze stiles during this holiday but one on the edge of Brassington had me beat as it was far too tight and too tall to get through. Luckily there was a gate just 50 yards away otherwise I would have been doing some wall climbing. It turned out to be a nice sunny day as can be seen from the picture of the climbers on Harboro Rocks. The walk was 8 miles with just over 1,000ft of ascent.

Leave a Reply

