Devil’s Beef Tub

Thursday 18 June 2015. Yesterday was windy with heavy showers throughout the morning so walking was off the menu in favour of watching cricket and horse racing on TV. For today’s walk I headed north to do the Devil’s Beef Tub. The name intrigued me and I had to go and have a look.

As I drove through Moffat the weather wasn’t looking too good so I stopped for a coffee to give it a chance to brighten up. This didn’t happen, although there were only a few drizzly showers blowing through on a stiff breeze. Not enough to make me put waterproofs on. As I was walking along the approach road a fellow walkers stopped his car to ask if I wanted a lift. I answered no thanks and I think he understood why I wanted to do the full route under my own steam. The walk turned out to be just 6.25 miles with 1,500ft of ascent.

As I passed around the back of Corehead the path began to go up a little and at this point I broke away from my planned route to follow a permissive track signed as “Beef Tub Loop”. It soon became clear that this contouring path wasn’t going to lead me to where I wanted to be but I followed it for a little longer as it took me into the bowl of the Beef Tub and gave me views that I would have missed had I stuck to the planned route. I re-traced my tracks for a short distance to regain the planned route which took me steeply uphill to Straight Step. This path was no more than a sheep track in places with a steep drop off the side into the bottom of the Beef Tub. The last bit of the climbing took me to the trig point on Annandale Hill (1,550ft). I was now walking on the Annandale Way, a 55 mile path that joins Moffat with Annan on the Solway Firth. Having looked at the route of the Annandale Way, I think that I did the best bit of it today. It was more or less all downhill from here and I was glad to get back without getting wet.

Devil’s Beef Tub – walk route

IMG_2136 IMG_2140 IMG_2141 IMG_2143 IMG_2144

Leave a Reply

