Langholm

Friday 12 June 2015. I headed 15 miles north across the Scottish border today for a 7.4 mile walk with 1,300ft of ascent. Langholm is a “Walkers are Welcome” town surrounded by many hills, most of them being about 1,000ft above sea level and therefore accessible to almost everyone.

My route today started from the town centre as I headed west close to Wauchope Water before making the steady climb north to the flat top of Calfield Rig where I made my only stop for an early lunch at around 11am. A small down and then up brought me to Craighope Head where I took the picture of the wind turbines on top of nearby Clagberry Hill. Turning east at the foot of Black Knowe, I was on my way back but first had to climb Mid Hill at 1,060ft. From here it was largely downhill over Meikleholm Hill and back to the car.

Before I left Langholm I bumped into a guy who had been instrumental in setting up the walk routes around the nearby hills. He told me about the Muckle Town Adventure Festival which was on next week and a dawn chorus walk which starts at 6.30am. Apparently there are 6 breeding pairs of Hen Harriers in the area and there is a good chance of seeing them during this walk. So, I’ve made my on-line booking and will be up at 4.30am next Saturday to get there in good time.

Langholm – walk route

IMG_2102 IMG_2103 IMG_2104 IMG_2105 IMG_2107 IMG_2109 IMG_2111

Leave a Reply

