Zip World

Tuesday 19 May 2015. I decided to have a break from walking and to go for an adrenalin rush instead. I’d booked myself for a couple of rides at Zip World in Penrhyn quarry, near Bethesda. I think that I look stupid in the flying suit and harness that everyone has to wear and I guess that my fellow “flyers” thought that they looked equally daft.

To get used to the idea of flying and to build confidence we started on the little zipper. This only reaches speeds of 45mph. We were then driven on the back of a lorry to the top of the quarry for the ride on the big zipper which reaches speeds of up to 100mph. The first ride was exciting especially as you hang there in a harness ready to be launched down the cable. There is a system of arrest cables to slow you down at the end of the ride and they ask you to open your arms out wide to provide additional air resistance braking.

The big zipper has a drop of over 700ft and passes over the lake at the bottom of the quarry. My flight was delayed for 5 minutes or so whilst a hail storm blew through. The big zipper lasted for all of 55 seconds and at one point there was an odd sensation as if I was coming to a standstill over the lake. I thought that I was flying more slowly than the guy on the other wire who was launched at the same time as me but it must have been an illusion as the following official video shows us arriving at the bottom at more or less the same time. I’m on the left hand wire in most of the video.

IMG_1989

IMG_1990 IMG_1991 IMG_1992 IMG_1993 IMG_1996 IMG_1997 IMG_1998 IMG_1999 IMG_2000 IMG_2001

I took the next 3 video clips in an attempt to capture the thrill of the ride.

Leave a Reply

