Betws-y-Coed

Sunday 17 May 2015. With 2 football matches on TV this afternoon, I wanted to do a slightly shorter and more local walk today so I opted for a 6.5 mile route with 1,370ft of ascent starting from Betws-y-Coed. I made a start at just after 9am and set off along a small road heading up the Afon Conway valley where I caught a picture of a motionless Heron looking for its breakfast. Crossing over the river I then followed a bridleway close to the Fairy Glen and after an hours walking I arrived at the Conway Falls cafe. I hadn’t brought anything to eat or drink with me today so it was a good excuse to stop for a coffee and a bacon sandwich. Opposite the cafe was a milestone with distances still shown in miles and furlongs. i can’t recall seeing anything similar before.

The next leg of the walk continued uphill to visit the site of the neolithic burial chamber at Capel Garmon. At this point I was almost 800ft higher than my starting point and had good views of the surrounding hills/mountains. With the hard work behind me it was more or less all downhill back to Betws-y-Coed.

My new Samsung Tab4 tablets continues to perform poorly in terms of retaining an accurate GPS fix. It acquires the GPS satellites and gives an accurate location reading but this soon drifts off-course and can only be corrected by stopping and starting the GPS function which spoils the tracklog record. I’m really disappointed with this tablet as my old Tab2 performed with amazing accuracy before the tablet itself started malfunctioning last week. I can only apologise to Jacqui who also bought a Tab4 on my recommendation and hope that her device performs better than mine although I can’t think of any reason why this might happen. As Karen will testify, navigation is made a whole lot easier when supported by a tablet running digital mapping and providing an accurate GPS location. I can manage without my tablet but for the remainder of this holiday as I’ll be using my phone as my primary navigational aid. I’ll run the new Tab4 at the same tine to see if it will perform any better.

I’ve ordered a couple of 32gb micro SD cards and when I get home I’ll install one of these in the old Tab2 tablet and see whether or not it repeats the malfunctions of last week. I need a reliable primary or backup device so I’ll make a visit to John Lewis in Peterborough to have a look at the Asus MeMO Pad 7 tablet. It has good reviews so I’ll probably end up buying one and will give my new Samsung Tab4 to my great-nephew who is 14. He should appreciate this gesture, especially as I bought his 9 year old sister a Tesco Hudl for Christmas.

Betws-y-Coed walk route

IMG_1978 IMG_1979 IMG_1980 IMG_1981 IMG_1982  IMG_1985IMG_1984

Moel Siabod to the left and the Glyders just right of centre which I’ve climbed before. Tryfan to the right which I’d like to climb but has a fearful reputation of walkers becoming cragfast.

2 thoughts on “Betws-y-Coed

  1. Jacqui Knowles (ACL)

    Hi Brian

    I tested the tab 4 a couple of days ago on a walk along the Mersey from Sale to Didsbury and back. According to the tracking I managed to walk through the lake at Chorlton Water Park and I walked across the Mersey without the aid of a bridge!!! I know I can be resourceful, but I’m sure I didn’t do either. It’s interesting that you are having similar problems.

    Time permitting I will do some more testing this week and let you know how I get on.

    Jacqui

    Reply
  2. fenlandramblers Post author

    Hi Jacqui
    Sorry to learn that you are having similar problems with your Tab4. Its so disappointing and I don’t hold out much hope that it will get better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

