West Ayton

Sunday 26 April 2015. Red sky at night Shepherd’s delight certainly came true today after the glorious sunset of yesterday. Clear blue skies but with ice on my car this morning. I waited until just before 9am to go for a walk straight from my caravan site. I’d planned a longer walk but cut it short at 6.4 miles with just 986ft of ascent.

My outward leg followed the top of the Forge Valley heading north. I’d walked the opposite way through the bottom of the valley last week and it was good to be able to see it from a different perspective. I stopped briefly just beyond Spiker Hill Farm for coffee and to take in the view looking towards the sea at Scalby, just north of Scarborough. From here there was a steady descent of 200ft to North Stile Cottage and on to Cockrah Foot.

This was more or less and out and back walk with the return leg starting with a climb of 320ft to Coverdale Moor, the high point of the walk. It was all downhill from here back to the caravan site.

Having walked on 12 out of the 13 days of my stay, I have amassed a total mileage of 99.80. It has been a wonderful holiday in fantastic weather for this time of the year.

West Ayton walk route

IMG_1866IMG_1864 IMG_1868 IMG_1870 IMG_1871 IMG_1872

Leave a Reply

