Pickering

Saturday 18 April 2015. I thought about having a rest day today but in the end I decided to go for a walk from Pickering. It turned out to be 9.6 miles with 1,000ft of ascent.

The first part of the route took me past an MoD rifle range which luckily wasn’t in use. From here I walked through Haugh Howl woods. A short section of road waking led to more woodland tracks before crossing open farmland on the way back to Pickering. I’d walked for well over 2 hours before I saw anyone else. The latter part of the route seemed to be popular with mountain bikers.

I came close to the track of the North Yorks Moors Railway where I caught a brief glimpse of a steam train on its way up to Whitby. Calling in at the station in Pickering, I discovered that the return fare to Whitby is now £26. I took this train ride some years ago and, for me, it was an expensive ride as much of the line passes through steep sided valleys with restricted views.

Pickering walk route

IMG_1763 IMG_1764 IMG_1765 IMG_1766 IMG_1767

Leave a Reply

