Scarborough to West Ayton

Wednesday 15 April 2015. I started today’s walk with a bus ride into Scarborough. The bus stop in West Ayton is less than 10 minutes walk from the caravan site so it was easy enough to leave the car behind and to get more value from my bus pass. The bus stopped in the centre of Scarborough outside the railway station and from here I walked down through the town to the beach and harbour. There was a strong westerly wind blowing and the Met Office recorded the temperature at 10am as only 8c. It was bloody freezing.

Scarborough, like many of our coastal resort towns, has seen better days and I can’t understand why anyone would want to take a holiday there when there are more attractive places within the UK and abroad. My route out of town and back to West Ayton took me right along the beach front and the array of tacky souvenir shops and amusement arcades. Soon after leaving the town, I walked past a GCHQ establishment with its attendant networks of radio masts. I guess that these are why the following sign has been erected.

IMG_1740

Much of the remainder of the walk was either alongside or through the middle of numerous areas of woodland and the cover that these provided from the wind was most welcome. The walk ended with at least a mile of boardwalk alongside the River Derwent in the steeply sided Forge Valley.

The walk turned out to be 10.5 miles with 1,600ft of ascent. I’m pleased to say that my energy levels seemed to be back to normal today although my feet were tired by the time that I got back.

Scarborough to West Ayton walk route

IMG_1734 IMG_1735 IMG_1737 IMG_1738 IMG_1739

Leave a Reply

