Bempton Cliffs & Flamborough Head

Tuesday 14 April 2015. Before I start the report on today’s walk, let me say a few things about yesterday. It wasn’t the best day that I’ve had but it could have been worse. It started less than 10 miles from home when, after waiting at the railway crossing at Whittlesey, I started the car up only for a low key battery warning light to come up on the dashboard. As my car is virtually all electronic, this was a little worrying as I didn’t really know how quickly the battery might go flat and I then wouldn’t be able to start the car. Luckily there is a Ford dealership in Scarborough and I was able to get the key battery changed for just £5.

The second mishap; my fault, was with my satnav. I thought that I was following the route to my caravan site but the nearer that I got, the more it wanted to take me on different roads. It wasn’t until I passed the turning for “The Ladies” holiday accommodation in Troutsdale that I realised that I’d been following the route to their place rather than my caravan site. Turning around with a caravan on tow isn’t an easy task and I had to drive a further 5 miles down the road to Thornton-le-Dale before I could do a u-turn and drive the 15 miles back to my caravan site at West Ayton.

The third piece of misfortune was to find that the flush on my caravan isn’t working. This isn’t the end of the world as I can manually pour water into the toilet, however, the earliest that I can get this fixed is 27 May, meaning that I’ll have to live with this problem for this holiday and my 2 weeks in Wales.

Enough of my troubles, the weather today on the Yorkshire coast was bright and breezy as I found out when visiting the RSPB reserve at Bempton Cliffs. I visited a few years back but wanted to go today in the hope of spotting a Puffin. It was perhaps a little early in the season for their return from sea but I was lucky to see one only about 30ft from a viewing point. It was sat on the cliff edge with a shaft of sunlight shining on it. After about an hour looking at the thousands of sea birds perched precariously on the cliffs, I move on a few miles along the coast to Flambourough Head. I’d never been before, but as it is a famous Yorkshire landmark, I wanted to make a visit. In truth, it was a little underwhelming. The chalk cliffs are largely hidden from view until reaching the lighthouse where there is a wonderful cafe. I’m not sure why, but my energy levels seemed particularly low today and after walking little more than 4 miles, I felt knackered. I decided to refuel with a huge plate of fish, chips and mushy peas. Whilst these were very nice, there was far too much and, unusually for me, I was unable to finish the meal. Rather than continuing the walk to the North Landing, I cut it short and followed the road back to Flamborough and the car.

The total distance for the two walks was 7.4 miles. Not a lot in comparison with recent walks and I hope that my energy levels are restored to normal for the rest of the holiday.

Bempton & Flamborough Head walk route

IMG_1734. IMG_1706 IMG_1717 IMG_1718 IMG_1721 IMG_1722 IMG_1724 IMG_1727 IMG_1728 IMG_1729 IMG_1730 IMG_1732 IMG_1733

Leave a Reply

