Easter Walks

Monday 6 April 2015. The Fenland Group didn’t have any walks scheduled for the Easter holiday period so it was an opportunity to do a few walks of my choosing. I ended up by walking a total of 39 miles on 4 walks over a period of 5 days. It has been a pretty hectic time and I didn’t have time to write up each walk on a daily basis so here’s a quick catch up.

On Thursday 2nd April I drove to Stamford to join with the Thursday Strollers on their 6.4 mile walk from Burghley House. Although it was a route that I’ve done before, it was still enjoyable despite having to share it with 36 other ramblers, many of whom were a little too slow for my liking. It was a lovely warm day and I ended up carrying my jacket for the latter part of the walk.

On Saturday 4th April I was joined by Linda for a 12 mile walk from King’s Cliffe. The route was a slight variation on one that I did a few years ago and proved to be a little longer than I had thought. As there were just the two of us, it was done at a brisk pace.

King’s Cliffe route

On Sunday 5th April, Joesphine joined Linda and I to walk the Wensum Way. The Norfolk Council’s website says that this is a 12 mile route but my GPS measured it as 13.05 miles. As it is a linear route, we left Linda’s car at Gressenhall and then drove in my car to Lenwade. As the name suggests, much of the route was alongside the River Wensum and it was certainly picturesque. We passed through Lyng where a motocross event was in full swing with the attendant noise disturbing our peace and quiet. Our coffee stop was taken at Elsing church where we were invited to take a small Easter egg. A nice christian gesture. A late lunch was taken at Swanton Morley church before walking the final 4 miles back to Gressenall for another car shuttle back to Lenwade.

Wensum Way route

On Monday 6th April we were joined by Amanda for a 7.6 mile walk from Felbrigg Hall. This was on a route that I’d made up from the map which worked out surprisingly well. The NT property and grounds were very busy with both Easter visitors and families who had come to see the “lambing”. We escaped into the countryside under grey skies but this soon developed into a nice sunny day.

Felbrigg Hall route

All of the following pictures, with the exception of Felbrigg church, were taken on the Wensum Way.

IMG_1665 IMG_1666 IMG_1667 IMG_1668 IMG_1670 IMG_1674 IMG_1676 IMG_1677 IMG_1679 IMG_1680

Leave a Reply

