Linton & Grassington

Monday 2 March 2015. I spent most of the morning watching the snow falling from the comfort of my caravan. The forecast was for it to stop soon after lunch and then to become sunny. It didn’t seem too accurate as I left the van on the back of a blizzard for a 5.7 mile walk to Linton and Grassington.

As most of the cross-field paths had disappeared under a blanket of snow, I stuck to the back roads and minor tracks on my way to Linton. I hadn’t been going long before I came upon a couple of sheep with their baby lambs; the first of the season for me. It was only 2.5 miles to Linton and I got their just around 2pm. The Fountaine Inn serves food all day so I took the opportunity to call in for a jacket potato with cheese & pickle, supplemented by a pint of Tetley bitter. I wasn’t driving so I could indulge myself for a change. Linton is a pretty village with a stream running through the middle.

The next stop was Linton Falls on the River Wharfe which were in full flow following recent rains and the snow melt. From here it was short walk into the picturesque village of Grassington. A couple of miles more and I was back at the caravan for a welcome cup of tea.

Linton & Grassington Walk

IMG_1505 IMG_1506 IMG_1507 IMG_1508 IMG_1511 IMG_1512 IMG_1514 IMG_1517 IMG_1520

Leave a Reply

