Bisbrooke

Sunday 25 January 2015. My quest to find new routes for the group to walk took me today to the hamlet of Bisbrooke, just south of Glaston off the A47. I knew from the profile of this walk that there was going to be more up and down than usual and the 6.85 mile route had a total ascent of 600ft. A lot for us Fenlanders! Leaving Bisbrooke I headed south-east for the village of Seaton.

From Seaton there was a short section of road walking which provided views across to the 82 arches of Harringworth viaduct. The railway line that it carries disappears into a tunnel under the road that I was walking on and it was at this point that I left the tarmac and returned to green, or should I say muddy, paths. Heading uphill towards Morcott I tried one re-instated cross-field path and came out the other end with a couple of pounds of mud stuck to each boot. Shortly after, the official path followed another cross-field path which I was able to avoid by walking around the side of the field instead of straight across it.

From Morcott to Glaston there were 6 consecutive cross-field or field edge paths, each of them slippery with mud. The last two hadn’t been re-instated and without the aid of GPS it would have been difficult to discern the correct route. I’ll be reporting them to the local authority. I made a small detour through the village of Glaston to visit the church before heading out on the last leg back to Bisbrooke. Again, the diagonal cross-field path from the A47 hadn’t been reinstated and I was glad to be back on tarmac for the walk downhill with a final uphill stretch to the car.

With a different underfoot surface this would be a nice walk but it is better saved for the summer when the mud will have gone.

Bisbrooke Walk

20150125_10011620150125_11343320150125_100749

Leave a Reply

