Two birds with one stone

Saturday 24 January 2015. My caravan is booked in for a service on 2nd Feb at Greentrees in Dereham, however, they have an annual event during which they offer a 20% discount. The drawback is that you have to go to them to claim the discount, this can’t be done over the phone or the internet. I guess the idea is to get customers looking at new caravans in the hope that increased sales will more than offset the reduction in servicing prices. It is a little over a 100 mile round trip for me to Dereham and fuel costs are about £15. The normal cost of caravan servicing is £240 but, with 20% off, I can save £48; making a net saving of £33. Add to this a further saving of £5 on toilet chemicals and this makes the journey well worthwhile.

To make today’s drive to Dereham even more worthwhile, I incorporated the opportunity to recce a walk from nearby Gressenhall Rural Museum. I arrived at just after 8.30am only to find that I was too early and the gates to the car park were locked. Luckily, there was a small car park, less than a quarter of a mile away at Hoe Rough which was on my route. It was another cold crisp but sunny morning as I set off along part of the Wensum Way. I hadn’t been going for very long before I came across a shooting party. Not wanting to put myself in danger, I asked one of the beaters if I would be OK carrying on along my intended route. He was fine with this as they hadn’t really started the shoot and the beaters would be driving the birds in the opposite direction to me.

As I made my way towards Drift Farm the adjoining fields were full of what I thought were soft fruit canes. Unusual for these parts. The next leg of the walk took me past Dillington Hall and their website explains why there were so many soft fruit plants. :http//dillingtonhall.com/

A little further round and I encountered the shoot, again. Either I was following them or they were following me. I took the opportunity to ask one of the beaters about the soft fruit. She said that they were Blackcurrants, grown for Ribeena. My route then took me over and then under the Mid Norfolk Railway line before crossing Hoe Common and  Hoe Rough This is a conservation area and made a nice end to a 5.9 mile walk. The full route will be 6.5 miles as Gressenhall Museum’s car park and cafe/toilets should be open for those arriving at a more sensible time.

A map of the walk is here: Gressenhall Walk

Since writing this blog post, I’ve discovered how to convert the GPX details to KLM so that the route can be viewed (from the air) on Google Maps.

3 thoughts on “Two birds with one stone

  1. norfolktrails

    Lovely to read. Please may we use this post for a short feature about the Fenland Ramblers on our Explore Norfolk Trails Blog – using the last 3 paragraphs – linking back to this original post and blog with some detail on Fenland Ramblers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

