Attamire Scar and Victoria Cave

Friday 5 September 2014. I’ve walked at the foot of Attamire Scar several times, the last being on my Dales High Way in June. Each time, I’ve promised myself that I would come back, climb to the top and have a good look around. Well, today was the day. It was only 22 miles from Clitheroe to Settle from where I started the walk. I knew that it was a steep 900ft climb to the trig point at the top of Attamire Scar (1,450ft) but it was worthwhile as there were great views from up there despite it being a little hazy. Once on the top I made my way via Warrendale Knotts to VictoriaCave. Again, I’d walked past it before but never made the effort to detour up to the cave.

From here it was a leisurely stroll of just over 2 miles back to Settle. Although it was a short walk at only 4.8 miles with a total ascent of 1,250ft, there was no pressure at all. I could go wherever I wanted, stop when I liked and set my own pace. The area around Settle is on of my favourite places to walk and I enjoyed every minute of it.

Leave a Reply

