Staveley

Sunday 31 August 2014. Today is the last day of summer and my last day of walking from my base in Kendal before moving on to Clitheroe tomorrow. It was a beautifully sunny day so I made the short drive to nearby Staveley for a 6.8 mile walk with 970ft of ascent. Although not in the high hills of the Lakes, Staveley is a good starting point for a relatively easy walk with fine views. This walk had two stiff climbs to reach Potter Tarn, a steady descent and then a couple of miles of riverside walking on the Dales Way to get back to Staveley.

I’ve seen quite a few Swallows flying around over the last couple of weeks and thought that it won’t be long before they leave these shores. I was therefore surprised to see a clutch of fledglings in a nest made in a farm barn doorway.

Although the weather has been mixed during my time in Kendal, I’ve still managed to do 8 walks totalling 62 miles and 16,000ft of ascent. I fulfilled my ambition to go down Gapping Gill; ticked off 6 new Wainwrights and added 3 new Howgills tops. It has been most enjoyable and, as the weather seems likely to better next week, I’m a little sad to be leaving but will be back at some time soon.

Leave a Reply

