Scout Scar

Sunday 24 August 2014. Yesterday started brightly but heavy showers/rain developed soon after lunch. It didn’t bother me though as there was sport on TV all day and I had planned a rest from walking.

It was another bright start today so I made the short drive to Scout Scar for a 5.8 mile walk with 970ft of ascent. I last walked on Scout Scar some 7 years ago when staying with my motorhome at the Caravan Club’s Kendal site. I walked from there, into Kendal and then up to Scout Scar. This time, I started from the car park near the top of Scout Scar and saved the 500ft foot climb from the town centre. The walk along the edge of the Scar is fairly level and soon took me to “The Mushroom”. This is an elaborate topograph from which there are great views of the surrounding fell tops.

Leaving the edge of the Scar, there was a steepish drop down through woodland to Underbarrow. Having come down over 500ft, I then had to regain all of this height on the climb back to the car as can be seen from the route profile.

I’ve updated the blog for the Kentmere Horseshoe by adding a rather interesting route profile.

Leave a Reply

