Tour of the Fens

Sunday 27 July 2014. I got back from walking today in time to see the Tour of the Fens cycle race come past my front door. It seemed like a well organised event with numerous police outriders and a cavalcade of support vehicles. The race was divided into two groups each of about 200 riders. They whizzed past so quickly that it impossible to count them

The first group were semi-pros or top class club riders whilst the second, slightly slower group were amateurs. I arrived home to find a couple of spectators sitting on the edge of my front lawn and the roadside. They had cycled from March and had been there for some time as the races had been delayed by a crash. I did my good deed by taking them out a litre of orange squash and let them use my loo. I hope that someone will take pity on me in similar circumstance.

Leave a Reply

