Brimham Rocks

Monday 14 July 2014. Karen has joined me for 4 days walking so I thought that I’d take her to the local beauty spot of Brimham Rocks for an 8.4 mile walk which took in more of the Nidderdale Way. We spent some time looking around the unusual rock formations before setting off on the walk. It gave Karen a chance to practice her role as an HF Holidays walks leader by doing the navigation. There are a great many paths in the area and concentration was required to stay on the right track.

The only photo that I took during the walk was of a lone deer which didn’t want to leave the field as we walked through. At about lunchtime it began to rain and I decided to take a short cut back to the car. This was a mistake as the rain soon stopped and we then decided to continue with the planned route. However, by the time we made the decision to resume, we had followed a small path which took us about a quarter of a mile through head high bracken intermingled with nettles, thistles and brambles. Karen had long trousers but I was wearing shorts. My legs were shredded and 3 hours later are still tingling from the stings.

The walk involved a total ascent of 1,100ft, almost half of which came right at the end as we climbed back to Brimham Rocks.

Leave a comment